NASA’s DART Crash: How to Watch a Spacecraft Collision with an Asteroid in Deep Space

NASA’s DART spacecraft isn’t long for this world — and it’s taking off with great fanfare.

after, after SpaceX Falcon 9 launch on November 24, 2021, the Double Asteroid Redirection Test Probe severely bounds the asteroid Didymos and its accompanying small rock, Demorphos. On September 26, DART will head to Dimorphos at 14,000 mph. You can watch live, and we have all the details here.

First, we must reiterate that there is no need to worry. This pair of asteroids poses no threat to Earth. The mission was designed as a test run of planetary defense with the goal of demonstrating a collision in deep space Can Changing the orbit of a space rock. A carefully arranged death journey will destroy DART, and if all goes as planned, slightly alter the Dimorphos’ orbit around his father Didymos.

In recent weeks, a team from the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory Asteroid pair evaluated from a distance, to ensure that we have a solid understanding of the orbits of asteroids. Once DART is destroyed, ground-based space telescopes will evaluate Didymos and Dimorphos to see how much the orbit has changed.

The $308 million spacecraft’s only instrument is the Didimos Camera for Reconnaissance and the Asteroid Camera for Optical Navigation (Draco) and will be powered on for a final dive, taking a picture every second. It will also monitor another small satellite, which slipped from DART on its way to its target.

About three minutes or so after impact, the shoebox-sized cube (known as the Light Italian Cubesat for imaging asteroids) will take high-resolution images of the crash site and damage to the 525-foot asteroid. Another mission, set to launch in 2024, will also meet Didymus sometime in 2026.

But that’s for later, for now, here’s how you can see the demise of DART.

How to watch NASA’s DART coverage

The NASA DART death is a prime-time viewing on Monday, occurring just hours before the big Monday night football game between the New York Giants and the Dallas Cowboys.

The spacecraft will collide with Dimorphos in 4:14 p.m. PT / 7:14 p.m. ET on September 26. Live coverage is scheduled to begin at 3PM PT / 6PM ET via NASA TV.

Our YouTube channel, CNET . Highlights, it will have two streams. Main live feed and feed from the spacecraft’s DRACO camera. NASA notes that the feed will be mostly black once it turns on, but as the spacecraft approaches, the pair of asteroids will appear. It must be very exciting.

Here’s how that time translates to different areas:

  • US: Sept. 26 4:14 p.m. PT/September 26, 7:14 p.m. ET.
  • Brazil: September 26, 8:14 pm (Federal District).
  • United Kingdom: September 26, 11:14 p.m.
  • South Africa: September 27, 1:14 a.m.
  • Russia: September 27 2:14 a.m. (Moscow).
  • United Arab Emirates: September 27, 3:14 am
  • India: September 27, 4:44 a.m.
  • China: September 27, 7:14 a.m.
  • Japan: September 27, 8:14 a.m.
  • Australia: September 27, 9:14am EST.

It looks awesome! Where can I learn more about DART?

We are glad you asked.

When DART was launched back in November 2021, CNET Science’s Monisha Ravisetti Make this little explanation useful About the mission and its goals. The team at the Johns Hopkins Laboratory of Applied Physics also has a lot of resources the missionincluding useful interactions and the latest updates.

Be sure to check back here for the live stream links closest to your launch and check it out CNET Science For more space stories.